LISTENING to Talk Shows

I listen to talk radio whenever I have a chance. We have a great local radio station, KURV, which has talk shows on all day. Yes, the shows tend to be conservative. 🙂 I enjoy listening to talk shows because of their content. Talk shows tend to have more discussion and ideas flying back and forth in the same amount of time it would take me to put out two or three blog posts. You can’t beat live discussions for speed. Lately, I’ve been pulled away from reading blogs and even posting to my own because I have been looking into online talk shows.

In the past, I have enjoyed talk shows as a listener. Now, I find myself listening with a different ear. I want to do my own talk show(s). Now I am listening to learn techniques and get ideas on how to deal with running a show while doing other things. I used to listen, now I am LISTENING.

I do enjoy listening to podcasts. I appreciate the time and effort it takes to record, edit, and post a podcast. The greatest thing about a podcast is that you can fix any errors you have. You can flub up and do a retake, then go back and delete. Doing live shows eliminates all the work of recording, editing, and posting; but it has its own challenges. Live shows are a performance. The show must go on and you are forced to think on your feet. It’s a trade-off. The back-end work with podcasts is replaced with the need to throw together a performance on the spot. I find myself attracted to the panic of spontaneous speech. Even though I’m a shy guy, I enjoy performing. Go figure.

Leave a comment