The End of Summer Vacation

Tomorrow, my children will be going to school again. Their summer vacation is over. I have split reactions from them. The boy can’t wait to go back to school. He is bored at home and looks forward to spending time with his friends. I’m taking some personal time off tomorrow to register him at school. My wife is not able to go as she teaches Head Start and has to be there for her students. It’s alright, I don’t mind.

The girl is not looking forward to going back to school. She is older and has a bit more sense than the boy. I think she realizes that going to school again means that she will have to review what she learned last year and then hit the tougher subjects. Add to that her entrance into junior high school. There is more at stake for her. We got her a mobile phone so that she can take it when she expects to stay after school. There will be rules attached with that phone. I guess, it’s my phone and she can borrow it. I don’t really need two phones, but I don’t want her to be careless with it.

We parents are ready for a whole new round of waking up early and racing to drop off the kids at school in time to get to work. It’s the end of summer vacation. It’s the start of a new phase.

Leave a comment