Blogger Could Do Better With Video Uploads

I uploaded a video to one of my blogs on Blogger tonight. I know it takes some processing because it took a while for my computer to crunch it down. The video is almost an hour long. Image quality is not a big issue, so I got it down to to 65 MB. I can understand that Google would want to optimize video so that they don’t have to spend too much on storage and bandwidth, but when you upload to Blogger, you have to wait for the video to process before you leave the page.

If you are working from home or from your office, you can just minimize the browser and do other stuff while waiting for your upload to process. However, if you are doing the mobile thing, you have to sit there and wait for the upload to process before you can leave.

If you are out and about, you are better off putting video up on YouTube, your own host, Google Video, or other service where your video is processed without you having to sit there waiting for it. You can then embed the video later when you have time. Or, if you host your own stuff, you don’t have to wait; you can upload, embed, and go.

Leave a comment